N SEOUL TOWER: Things To Do, How To Get There, and Ticket Prices

oh pakN Seoul Tower is the most famous tourist attraction in Seoul. I’ve always seen it in Korean dramas, and it has always been one of my dream destinations. Imagine how giddy I was when I got there!

Admission is free. There’s a lot of things to see & do there, but if you want to go to the observatory (that tower behind me in the photo above) to enjoy the 360° panoramic view of Seoul, then you have to buy a ticket. I recommend visiting late afternoon till the evening so you can enjoy both the day and the night view.

HOW TO GET THERE

By Bus


Namsan Sunhwan Shuttle Bus No. 02

Closest subway stations: Chungmuro station (Line 3 or 4) Exit 2 (in front of Daehan Cinema) / Dongguk Univ. Station, (Line 3) Exit 6
Intervals: Every 15 mins.
Operating hours: 07:00 – 23:30
Rates: 1,200 KRW in cash / 1,100 KRW with transportation card

Namsan Sunhwan Shuttle Bus No. 03

Closest subway stations: Seoul station (Line 1 or 4) Exit 9, Itaewon station (Line 6) Exit 4, Hangangjin station (Line 6) in front of Exit 2
Intervals: Every 20 mins.
Operating hours: 07:30 – 23:30
Rates: 1,200 KRW in cash / 1,100 KRW with transportation card

Namsan Sunhwan Shuttle Bus No. 05

Closest subway stations: Myeong-dong station (Line 4) Exit 3, Chungmuro (Line 3 or 4) Exit 2 (in front of Daehan cinema)
Intervals: Every 15 mins.
Operating hours: 07:30 – 23:30
Rates: 1,200 KRW in cash / 1,100 KRW with transportation card

By Seoul City Tour Bus


Yellow bus Ancient palace course Night panorama course
09:00 – 21:00 09:00 – 17:00 departure at 19:50 & 20:00
every 30 mins. every 30 mins. only twice a day
approx. 2 hours circulation time approx. 1 hour circulation time approx. 2 hours circulation time

Departure place: in front of Gwanghamun Donghwa Duty Free (Subway Line 5, Gwanghwamun Station, Exit 6)
For more info, visit the Seoul City tour Bus website.

By N Seoul Tower Cable Car


Operating hours: 10:00 – 23:00

DSCF4851

Ticket prices Individuals Groups (over 30 people)
Adult return ticket 8,500 won 7,000 won
Adult one-way ticket 6,000 won 5,000 won
Children return ticket 5,500 won 4,500 won
Children’s one-way ticket 3,500 won 3,000 won

For more info, visit the N Seoul Tower Cable Car website.

This is the option that we chose. From Myeong-dong, we walked about 15 mins. to reach the cable car. You can follow the directions on Google Maps to get there. Do note that it is uphill, so if you’re not really physically capable, consider other options. It can get tiring.

It’s really the fastest way to the tower, but I wouldn’t recommend really recommend it. It isn’t worth it for its cost. I would’ve just spent that money on food and just take the bus.

If it makes sense, I think the cable car going to N Seoul Tower was “too quick” – or maybe it’s just because I had a different idea of what a cable car is. I imagined it to be a very scenic and enjoyable trip, but to my surprise, their version of cable car meant that 20 people will fill up the cable car. You will all be standing inside, and then the cable car will zoom up the mountain. It was so fast that I feel like it only took about 3 mins. going up.

THE LOCKS OF LOVE


It has been a famous pilgrimage for lovers to visit N Seoul Tower and leave padlocks of love filled with handwritten messages signifying their love for each other. The colorful padlocks were such an eye candy!

DSCF4958cover

I went to South Korea with Ate Charmaine. I had the best time in Seoul because of her! (Thank you Ate Charmaine! ♥)

DSCF4911

I actually thought that the padlocks there were just for couples, but I saw padlocks with sweet messages about their love for their family, or love for their friends. So to all the single people (like me!) who plan to visit, of course you can leave your padlock there as well! It’s not just for couples okay! 🙂

DSCF4952

There are a few food stalls scattered located near this area. There’s a guy who sells cute animal-themed cotton candy if you want to snack on some sweets. If you’re with the kids, I’m sure they’ll love this as well!

DSCF4866

They also have a lot of these benches that look like it’s broken in the middle – but they’re actually “heart chairs”. If you sit here with your loved one, the bend will get you closer to each other!

DSCF5105

If you don’t have a padlock or you forgot to bring yours, you may purchase from the N Gift Shop below the observatory deck, but of course, they’re not cheap. From what I remember, the padlocks I saw ranged from 4,500 – 8,000 KRW for the small to medium-sized ones. I can’t remember the price of the bigger ones anymore. Anyhow, I suggest you just buy from the local markets (try Namdaemun Market!) before you visit N Seoul Tower.

DSCF5099

We didn’t get to leave a padlock, but I hope someday I can go back there with a loved one and leave the cutest padlock ever! ♥

N SEOUL TOWER OBSERVATORY


Operating hours: Mon-Fri/Sun: 10:00 – 23:00 | Sat 10:00 – 24:00

Ticket prices:

Adult over 13 yrs. old 10,000 KRW
Children 3-12 yrs. old 8,000 KRW
Elderly over 65 yrs. old 8,000 KRW

These are the standard rates, but I opted to buy from Klook. If you haven’t heard of Klook yet – they offer amazing discounts for different activities! I always trust them with my admission tickets in theme parks and other tourist attractions. They also offer tour packages. Just download the app and browse away!

DSCF4971

I was able to get my N Seoul Tower Observatory ticket from Klook at only 302 PHP! (roughly 6,766 KRW only! compared to the original price of 10,000 KRW) You can also choose to buy combo tickets that include entrance to the Hello Kitty Island, Ssentoy Museum, or food from N Burger.

What’s great is that I did not have to waste my time lining up to buy a ticket. I just went straight to the reception and told them I bought tickets from Klook, showed them my voucher from my mobile phone, and then they gave me a printed ticket already. I then proceeded to the elevator and went up the observatory right away.

We went up the observatory deck around 6:30 P.M. The elevator was awesome, but I’ll leave that for you to experience!

While waiting for the sunset, we bought some candies at Weeny Beeny.

DSCF5057DSCF5059

Here it is! I watched the sun set as the darkness slowly conquered the skies.

DSCF5022DSCF5043

Then just like that, it was 8:00 p.m. already. It was beautiful to see the bright lights gradually lighting up the whole city.

DSCF5073

After enjoying the view, I needed to go for a quick bathroom break. I opened the door to the cubicle, and I was shookt. Here’s the Sky Restroom, everyone. What a view! It actually felt weird cause I was paranoid that maybe someone out there’s looking at me while I’m peeing… lol.

DSCF5078DSCF5080

Visiting the N Seoul Tower Observatory Deck is another travel bucketlist achieved! However, in my opinion, if you’re on a budget, you can totally skip the observatory. There’s really not much to see there. You can still see the Seoul city view even if you don’t go up the observatory. Plus all the establishments are on the base of the tower and are easily accessible without an admission fee.

THE SEOUL TOWER PLAZA


This is what I’m talking about. You can spend most of your time here as there are restaurants, cafes, arcades, and more! I really think it’s more fun to hang out here than to visit the observatory.

DSCF5212

GAME PLAZADSCF5117

TWO BOILED CHICKEN CAFEDSCF5116

SEASON’S TABLE RESTAURANTDSCF5133

THE TEDDYBEAR GALLERY

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There were lots more booths and other establishments to visit in the plaza, but we didn’t check anymore. Outside the plaza, there were more IG-worthy spots for more photo-ops!

DSCF5139DSCF5161DSCF5207


Namsan Seoul Tower is really a romantic place that’s perfect for couples, but I really enjoyed it even with a friend! The atmosphere is very light and relaxing. It represents the beauty of Seoul. I wouldn’t mind going back to hang out with my friends next time! 🙂

Love,
Aleckzis

Leave a Reply

